FVBC Talk — Bridge Procedures, Rules & Etiquette

3a. The Revoke: Establishing a Revoke & Correcting a Revoke

One of the more common mistakes made in bridge is a revoke. Simply put, a revoke occurs when a player has a
card in the led suit, but plays a card in a different suit.

A revoke may be corrected if it is discovered before the offender or her partner play to the next trick. This
“discovery” may result from the revoker’s partner asking “No spades, partner?” or “None, partner?”. Defenders
are permitted to make such inquiries when partner fails to follow suit, in order to correct a revoke before it is
established. Dummy may also ask the question when Declarer fails to follow suit.

If the revoke is not corrected before the offending side plays to the next trick, it is said to be “established”, and
cannot be corrected. Play should continue, and the Director may be called after play is completed (and before
the cards are returned to the board) to determine any necessary adjustments.

If a player corrects a revoke before it is established, there may be other actions required:

>

If a defender corrects a revoke (by playing a card in the led suit), then the originally-played card remains
on the table as a major penalty card. If Declarer corrects a revoke, then the originally-played card is
returned to their hand. Declarer never has a penalty card, but knowledge of the withdrawn card is
authorized information to the non-offending side.

If the LHO of the revoker played to the trick before the revoke was discovered and corrected, then they
may choose to play a different card, and return the originally-played card to their hand. Information
about the withdrawn card is unauthorized to the offending side, but authorized to the non-offenders.

If the revoker’s partner played to the trick before it was discovered AND the LHO of the revoker changed
their played card after the revoke was corrected, then the revoker’s partner may change their played
card. If they do, then the original card remains on the table as a major penalty card.

Note that a revoke on the 12" trick can always be corrected, even if discovered after the final trick is played.
Call the Director when this occurs.

What should you do if you know or suspect that a revoke has occurred?

1.

The first time that your partner fails to follow a led suit, ALWAYS ask “None, partner?” If you don’t ask
then you share the blame for any penalties.

If you believe that an opponent revoked, make a mental note on which trick the revoke occurred. As
the 13™ trick is played, ask everyone to leave their cards on the table and explain where you thought the
revoke occurred. Players may examine that trick to confirm whether a revoke occurred. If any player
suspects that the revoke occurred, the Director should be called.

Players are not expected to help their opponents to discover and correct a revoke. If a player fails to
follow suit, an opponent may ask if they have no more of that suit, but they are not required to do so.

If you discover that you have mistakenly revoked earlier in the hand, you are not required to report the
mistake. It is up to the opponents to notice and draw attention to it. However, intentionally revoking is
a serious ethics violation and subject to severe penalties.

Summary: 1. Always ask “No more?” when partner fails to follow suit.

2. Call the Director at the end of play when you believe a revoke has occurred.

Next Talk: Penalties for Revokes



