## JSOB October 13, 2016 Annual Meeting

## (Quorum Yes)

The meeting was called to order by President Nancy Stein at 12:10.

Anne Landry made a motion that minutes from the October 21, 2015 Annual Meeting be accepted as written. Mary Anne Prosswimmer seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

President Nancy Stein read the following information concerning the state of JSOB:

As we prepare to vote on new members to the Board, the current members wanted to stress that JSOB is a MEMBER owned club. And as such each of us has a vested interest in the club's ongoing operation and success. The Board would encourage everyone to get involved, help out and make everyone who comes to your table feel welcomed.

The current board's main goals have been to grow our membership, offer a fun and friendly atmosphere and maintain an excellent financial balance sheet.

I hope you have noticed a lot of new players in the Tues. and Thurs. 299er games. What you may not know is we are now involved with the Duval County Schools Continuing Education Program and have a Beginning Bridge class here on Tuesday evenings for 35 students with interest in expanding this offering and others in coming quarters. Currently Rich Streeter and Burt O'Dell are coordinating and teaching. If anyone else would be interested in teaching, please let us know.

Additionally, we offer a relaxed lesson/play CHAT bridge game on Sat. mornings. A lot of different people donate their time to run this program. If you are interested in helping out occasionally, please let me know.

Our balance sheet is strong, cash flow is positive and reserves are funded. You are able to review these figures which are posted on the bulletin board.

That's the good news. The bad news is that on April 1 of this year, ACBL raised game and table fees 33%. Since then the Club has been absorbing this increase and because our financial situation is so strong the current board has voted NOT to pass the increase on to the membership in 2017.

More good news, we have 9 energetic members who have agreed to stand for election to fill the 6 seats being vacated.

The slate of officers for the January 2017 – December 2018 Board was: Marie Greenstein, Jeanne Harlan, Jeri Hogan, Leyse Lawry, Dane Margol, Michele Raeuber, Michael Smalline, Keith White and Nancy Whitmire.

Bill Foerster moved nominations be closed. Ira Ritchin seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

102 ballots were counted.

The January 2017 - December 2018 new board members are: Jeanne Harlan, Jeri Hogan, Leyse Lowry, Dane Margol, Michele Raeuber and Nancy Whitmire.

Meeting adjourned at 1:00 P.M.

Submitted by Jeanne Harlan, Secretary