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Intermediate- Lesson 29 

Opening 4th in hand after 3 passes                                                                                  
 
 
This comes up from time to time- everyone else has passed, and you are 4th to bid. What to do? 
 
Let’s say, for example, you are playing duplicate pairs, as N/S.  
 
A passed-out hand will score 0 for each side on the traveller, so you score better than every other NS where 
EW make any positive score, or where NS go down in any contract. Therefore, if you bid, and your side ends 
up declarer and fails to make your contract, or your bid allows the opposition to enter the bidding with an 
overcall, and they make their contract, you would have done better to pass. If, on the other hand, you pass, 
and other N/S pairs bid and make a contract, you would have done better not to pass, but to make a bid. 
 
This lesson is aimed at helping you decide what to do in such a situation.  
 
If you have a genuine opening bid, make that bid anyway. Partner might be sitting with a fair hand, but 
just not quite enough to open, and you can make a plus score.  
 
But if you are a little bit below opening strength, with a hand you would not have opened as dealer, should 
you open, or pass out the hand? You might have heard the maxim “borrow a king” in such a situation- the 
idea is you count your hand as if it had an extra king (so a 9 HCP hand now “counts” as 12 HCP, and you 
open. 
Beware!! 
 
If you have a balanced hand, and open 1NT on this basis, the balance of probabilities is the opposition will 
have more points than your side: if you have 9, there are 31 HCP distributed amongst the other three 
hands, all of which have passed. The best you can hope for is partner has 11 (if she had 12, she’d have 
opened) and the points will be 20-20. If partner has 10 or fewer, the opposition have more HCP than your 
side, and 1NT is probably going to fail.  
 
What about opening a suit?  
The highest-ranking suit (the “boss” suit) is spades, so if your opening bid is 1, you’ll probably be OK. But if 
it’s any other suit, the risk is the opponents will be able to overcall 1 - and might end up in a spade 
contract, making. Your bid allowed opponents to find a making contract. There is a great rule of thumb to 
help you decide: the “rule of 15”. 
 
The Rule of 15 
If you are 4th in hand, after 3 passes, and are borderline whether to open or pass, add the number of high 
card points in your hand to the number of spades: if it comes to 15 or more, open. If it comes to less than 
15, pass.  
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What would you bid, 4th in hand after 3 passes, holding the following hands: 
 

1  5 4 2              A Q J             A 10 9 8 5       7 6                   11 HCP  
“Borrowing a king” would make this count as 14HCP, and you might think of opening. But HCP + number of 
spades = 14. Not quite good enough. Pass. 

                                                                
 
 

2      A K 10 9 6 2           4                 K 10 7 4           3 2                   10 HCP 
You have 6 spades and a “rule of 20” 10HCP hand.  HCP+ number of spades = 16.  Open 1 

 

 

3  7 3      K Q J 9 8          8 7             A J 4 3         11 HCP 
You have a lovely 5-card heart suit, and a “Rule of 20” hand justifying a light opening bid. Borrowing a King 

would take you up to 14HCP, so you might well be tempted to open 1. Many players would do, and 
sometimes it will pay off. However, there’s a chance partner might respond in diamonds, in which case 

you’d have to rebid your 5-card heart suit. But what’s more concerning is a 1 bid might let opponents in 

with a 1 overcall, and they find a making part score in spades.  You count that your HCP + number of 
spades = 13. You Pass (reluctantly).  See example 5 below.  
 
 
 

4            9 3               Q 4               Q J 10 9 5 4         A 7 4                   9 HCP 
Playing weak twos, that 6-card diamond suit might tempt you to open 2. But remember, a big part of the 
point of playing weak two’s is pre-emptive, ie making it hard for the opposition to find their contract. You 
are 4th in hand after 3 passes, so if you pass, they’ve not found one.  Pass. 
 
 
 

5        J 7 4 3             K Q J 9 8                8 7             A 3                   11 HCP 

This is the same hand as hand 3, except the J and 4 are now J and 4. You still have a “Rule of 20” 
opener and a good 5-card major, but now you also have four spades, making it much less likely that 

opponents have a spade fit. You satisfy the rule of 15: HCP + number of spades = 15. Open 1.   
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Example 
Both sides vulnerable, dealer N.  

 A J 9 4 2 

    10 6 3 

    Q 10 2 

 K 10 

 7 3      Q 8 5 

  K Q J 9 8     7 5 4 

  8 7      A K 9 5 3 

  A J 4 3     8 7 

     K 10 6   

     A 3 

     J 6 4 

     Q 9 6 5 2 
 
North, East, and South all passed, leaving West with a decision whether to pass, or bid her hearts.  
 
With 11 HCP, an excellent heart suit, and her hand satisfying the “Rule of 20” test for a light opener, she 

opened 1.  
 

North overcalled 1. East, with 9 HCP and a good 5 card diamond suit, bid 2 (rule of 14 for a 2-level 
response). South, with 10 HCP and 3-card spade support, bid the Unassuming Cue Bid (see Lesson 21) of 

opponent’s opening suit at the lowest level, ie 2, showing 10+ HCP and 3+ support for partner’s spades. 
West was unable to support partner’s diamonds, and not strong enough to rebid her hearts at the 3 level, 
so had no option but to pass. North now had to decide the level of the spade contract to bid, and judging 

that game was unlikely, bid 2. That was the final contract.  
 

East led out A and K, and partner petered with 8 then the 7, to show a doubleton. East continued 

with a 3rd diamond for West to ruff. West continued with the K to dummy’s A. Declarer then led a club 

from dummy to see where the A was, having no concern that if might lie with East, as another diamond 

would concede a ruff and discard of her losing heart.  When the A showed up with West, declarer placed 

the Q with East, to have enough points for her2 bid. He took the trump finesse through East, so EW 
were limited to two diamonds, a diamond ruff, a heart, and a club. 8 tricks and +110 to NS.  
 
We see that by opening the bidding, West was now chalking up -110. If she had passed, the score would 
have been 0 (hand passed out).  The points had been 20-20, but North-south had the boss suit, spades.  
 
 
 
What should have happened:  
West should have looked beyond her lovely heart suit and “Rule of 20” light opener, and, with a borderline 
hand, used the Rule of 15.  She would judge her hand not good enough to open, and pass. 
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